HATCHET by:Gary Paulsen

When Brian goes to see his father the pilot of his plane suddenly has a heart attack. Brian manages to land it, but can he survive with only a hatchet? Can he face the dangers of the wild? I give this book 4 out of 5 shields. I really liked the parts about the little things that Brian starts to notice while he is in the wild. The situations and problems Brian gets into are very creative. You can always count on Gary Paulsen for a good survival story. Here is a link to his website: www.randomhouse/features/garypaulsen.com.

♦♦♦♦◊ 4 out of 5 shields

Published in: on November 9, 2011 at 12:03 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sirbooksalot.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/hatchet-bygary-paulsen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds like an exciting book. I like the title 🙂

  2. Ah, I remember this one. I’m always a sucker for a good survival story, too. My favorite is still My Side of the Mountain, by Jean Craighead George. Ever read it? It’s excellent! In fact, I think I might reread and review that one this winter.

    • Michelle, I have it on my bookshelf, but I haven’t read it yet.

  3. I remember not liking it too much at the time, but it’s definitely stuck with me over the years. I still remember him learning to fish and the first fire. As far as survival stories go though, I prefer Swiss Family Robinson.

    • I love Swiss Family Robinson too! 😀


Leave a Reply

